Awards and Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships

Language, Literacy, and Sociocultural Education Awards

The department is proud to support a variety of scholarships and awards to students each year. Selection criteria for each award can be found at the links below.

Ida & Jeff Margolis Award
This award is presented to a secondary education student who demonstrates excellence inteaching social studies and exemplifies commitment to multicultural education.

Evelyn Slobodzian Excellence in Reading Award
Dr. Evelyn Slobodzian, Professor Emerita, was a member of the Department of Reading from 1961 to 1980 who served as the chairperson for many years. This medallion is donated in her memory by the Department of Reading for academic excellence and distinguished service.

Susan Lytle Teacher Research Award
The Susan L. Lytle Practitioner Research Award is given annually to honor a MA in Reading candidate who has conducted outstanding research in the reading/literacy field.

Beatrice Miller Van Doren Scholarship
The Beatrice Miller Van Doren Scholarship was established in 1988. Clifford Van Doren established the scholarship as a memorial to his mother. The scholarship is given to an exceptional undergraduate who has enrolled in Rowan University's reading teacher endorsement.

Glassberg Scholarship for Student Teaching in English

The purpose of the Glassberg Scholarship for Student Teaching in English is to recognize the achievements of an English major who will be student teaching during the next academic semester.

Leonard L. Mancuso Award for Excellence in Secondary School Student Teaching Medallion
This medallion is awarded to the outstanding secondary school student teacher of the year, as determined by the Rowan University student teacher supervisory team.